Writing Advice by Arthur Slade

Today’s writing advice …

1st: what is your writing advice on writing a Steampunk Fantasy book?
 
One of the most important parts of writing steampunk is the atmosphere. As a writer you are essentially creating a new world that is a reflection of this one.  I have chosen to make my books as historically accurate as possible, to give the reader the sense of it being a rich world where every gas lamp and steam engine belongs. Then gradually I add the more “unbelievable” items. My hope is the reader will find them more believable because they have already “bought” into the world I’ve created.
2nd: what is your genral writing advice for these who are wants to write but don’t know where to begin?
 
This is very general, but it is important to write a little every day. Even if you don’t know where it will take you. I’ve had several projects begin this way. And I guess to second that advice is to write even when you’re not in the mood. Because I’ve found that there isn’t a difference between the writing I do when I am tired and when I’m enthused. They both have to be rewritten and improved upon anyway.

 Arthur Slade is the author of:::

Leave a Reply

