The Birthplace of J. R. R. Tolkien

Quenya101

Aiya! Entullelmë!

Well… Erunno wasn’t the only one to take a month vacation! I also took my own vacations, finally freeing myself for a month from college and… I stayed for two weeks on my uncle’ and aunt’s house on the beautiful South Africa! They live in Johannesburg, in the province of Gauteng. But Johannesburg has nothing to do with Tolkien (besides from the fact that this was the aunt that introduced me to the Silmarillion, thank you Dalva!).

IMG_9292

While in Johannesburg, I visited many beautiful and interesting places. For example, Lion Park, where a lion cub bit me (and damn, lion bites hurt) or the amazing Sterkenfontein Caves and the Maropeng museum, both focused and important to the history of Middle-Earth humankind. But that’s not what why I’m writing this post. I also visited a very important place to Tolkien lovers: his hometown. Tolkien, unlike most people think…

View original post 412 more words

One response to “The Birthplace of J. R. R. Tolkien

  1. Pingback: The Tolkiens | Stories in 5 Minutes·

Leave a Reply

