Lower Your Standards

Corsets, Cutlasses, & Candlesticks

You heard it here first, folks–writing is a joy, and it’s a pain. There are plenty of days when any little distraction will pull me away, and I’ll go gladly. It’s easy to become overwhelmed by all the noise out there on the internets, for example. (Here I am, blowing another harmonica right now, right here!) It’s too easy to fall down rabbit-holes, follow rainbows or stare at shiny things. Blink-blink.

I work at home. Do you? Then you know, too, the other things that hang around the house: laundry, the vacuum-cleaner, kids, pets, the phone, stuff. Sometimes it’s awfully hard (laundry) to sit (email) still (cooking!) and (stuff!) write. What keeps us going?

One thing that helps me carry on with my writing is the option to unplug the router.  It’s a free country, I’m not required to have my wi-fi firing. There isn’t any law about it…

View original post 602 more words

Leave a Reply

